Pool Darren Appleton wins the 74th 14 1 World Championship 2014

Darren Appleton wins the 74th 14.1 World Championship 2014

Darren Appleton wins the 74th 14.1 World Championship 2014

Darren Appleton has defeated Shane Van Boening in the 74th 14.1 World Championship held at the Steinway Billiards Café in New York.

A whole host of top name pool professionals including the likes of Earl Strickland, Thorsten Hohmann, Max Eberle, Jonny Archer and Mika Immonen fought it out for the title over 6 days.

Last year’s winner and in total three times winner of this event Thorsten Hohmann failed to make it in to the final 16, suffering defeats by Earl Strickland and then by Warren Kiamco on the one loss side. In the race to 150 it was Strickland that struck first and opened up a 100 point lead against the German. Hohmann got himself back in contention and with the match tied at 139-a-piece Hohmann went in-off with the break shot to give Strickland ball-in-hand where he claimed the 11 points need to go through to the last 16.

Darren AppletonStrickland went out in the last 16 to Mika Immonen 200-160 but he was himself eliminated by the eventual tournament runner-up Shane Van Boening 200-115. Van Boening faced fellow American Max Eberle in the semi and went through 200-178.

Appleton defeated Corey Deuel 200-30 in his last 16 match and then Mike Dechaine 200-172 in an error strewn match where both players were struggling with fatigue and making mistakes. Russia’s Evgeny Stalev was up for Appleton in an all European final to progress through 200-145.

The final against Van Boening all went the way of Appleton who won 200-27 including a run-out of 131 to complete the victory.

"I really didn't prepare as much this year for the tournament because been working on my new house and got my wedding this weekend. So I didn't really expect to win at all. I really struggled in the early parts of the tournament including last night in the quarter-finals against Dechaine. But today I felt really good. This World 14.1 is one of my favourite tournaments. The win comes at a great time because all my family is coming into town and I can share this with them."

Darren Appleton
Photo credits: Alison Fischer


Mark Selby, last years winner is is out!

John Higgins, runner-up last year, is out!

Barry Hawkins, beaten semi-finalist last year, is out!

Ding Junhui, beaten semi-finalist last year, is out!